Kuhusu Wakala

Historical Background

The history of TFS can be traced back to 1899 when it started in 1899 as a local forest bureau (Forstverwaltung) at Usimbe, Muhoro near Rufiji Delta under the German administration and later moved to Dar es Salaam in 1902. After the First World War of 1914-1918 the forest administration was taken over by the British Government. The forest administration under the British rule was re-established on 18th December 1920 and continued up to 1961 when Tanganyika gained its independence.

Similarly, TFS history in relation to the Beekeeping administration can be mapped out from 1949. Prior to 1949, Beekeeping operated as an informal sector. Between 1949 and 1971, Beekeeping was a department under the Ministry of Agriculture. The aim was to improve production of agricultural and bee products. Beekeeping was later transferred to the Ministry of Natural Resources in 1971. From 1971 to 1977, Beekeeping operated as a section under Department of Forestry in the Ministry of Natural Resources. In 1977 it was argued that bees are part of Wildlife hence beekeeping administration was transferred to Wildlife Department. Between 1980 and 1984, beekeeping operated as a full department. Due to government restructuring and cost reduction exercise in 1984, Beekeeping Department was combined with Forestry Department to form Forestry and Beekeeping Division (FBD).

All these transformation process were geared towards improving the efficiency and effectiveness of the management and administration of the forestry and Beekeeping sectors which have all culminate to the formation of TFS. The history of TFS traced since 1899 is summarized in Table 1:



1899 - 1918

Local forest bureau (Forstverwaltung)

1918 - 1959

Forest Department (Independent Department) under British Administration

1949 -1971

Beekeeping Department - Ministry of Agriculture.

1959- 1960

Forestry Department - Ministry of Natural Resources

1960 - 1961

Forestry Division - Ministry of Agriculture and Co-operative Development


Forestry Division - Ministry of Lands, Forests and Wildlife

1964 - 1966

Forestry Division - Ministry of Agriculture, Forests and Wildlife

1967 - 1969

Forestry  Division  -  Ministry of Agriculture  Food and Cooperatives.

1970 - 1979

Forestry Division - Ministry of Natural Resources and Tourism

1971 - 1977

Beekeeping Section - Department of Forestry, Ministry of Natural Resources.

1977 - 1980

Beekeeping Section - Department of Wildlife, Ministry of Natural Resources.


Forestry Division - Ministry of Livestock and Natural Resources.

1980 - 1984

Beekeeping full Department - Ministry of Natural Resources and Tourism.

1981 -1984

Forestry Division - Ministry of Natural Resources and Tourism

1985 - 1986

Forestry and Beekeeping Division - Ministry of Natural Resources and Tourism

1986 - 1990

Forestry and Beekeeping Division - Ministry of Lands, Natural Resources and Tourism


Forestry and Beekeeping Division - Ministry of Tourism, Natural Resources and Environment

1995 - 2010

Forestry and Beekeeping Division - Ministry of Natural Resources and Tourism

2011 - To Date

Tanzania Forest Services (TFS) Agency